The city that never sleeps - Reisverslag uit New York, Verenigde Staten van Emilie Block - WaarBenJij.nu The city that never sleeps - Reisverslag uit New York, Verenigde Staten van Emilie Block - WaarBenJij.nu

The city that never sleeps

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Emilie

27 December 2013 | Verenigde Staten, New York

New York, day 14.

I've been wanting to write my blog in NYC, but we stayed in an AirBNB apartment we didn't have a computer in. I knew this was going to happen up front so I thought to be smart by buying a tablet. However, the tablet didn't arrive on time at my post box on campus so I was screwed. I asked Stephanie, one of my friends I met on another continent even though her parents live a few streets away from mine back home.. The world is so small. Anyway, she was going to post t but her plans changed so she couldn't do it anymore. Bummer. I tried to contact Doris with Jeroen's phone so she could call inma, a girl that was still on campus. Via via via we came in contact with Inma and she sent the package to our address in Brooklyn. We weren't there when the package arrived and we got a slip that it was at the post office. That post office had the rudest, unfriendliest Asian employees I'd ever met. They were annoyed, angry, rolled their eyes and ran to the manager when she couldn't find the package at first. As if her misplacing the package was my fault! All would've been well if they gave me the tablet. But they didn't. They lost it. Shit.
I gave up on the tablet and went back to writing with pen & paper. Very retro!

New York is an amazing city with so much to see! It seems as if half the city is a foreigner. It's full of Asians, Indo's, Europeans and what not. The whole world comes together in New York. The city has so many different neighbourhoods like the big business district with its high buildings, Brooklyn with its beautiful houses, Central park with its three lakes, its touristic part where you're surrounded by bike-cabs, horse carriages and people (like me) taking pictures every other step, and then the other side, where you'll find peace and silence along a beautiful lake. Times Square is a chaotic crowd of tourists trying to get around like ants below the big bright advertisement billboards and next to the never ending stream of yellow cabs. The McDonalds on Times Square is probably the busiest one in the world but since I'm traveling with two guys.. guess what, they wanted to get food there, damn.

Traveling with two guys has its ups and downs. We've been with the three of us for exactly a week now, and I found it's very different from traveling with girls:
1. They make jokes about me all the time
2. They hate that I drink diet coke instead of regular coke and feel the need to mention that every time I order it
3. They have and buy more shoes than me, very unexpected
4. Stefan is made of steel, he's never cold and never tired, he makes me feel like a super-pussy
5. They talk about their parents and dogs more than girls do. They do have feelings after all
6. They taught me how to take a shit in public:
- No gaps under & above the door
- Always bring wet flushable wipes
- Has to be as anonymous as possible
- The gap between the buttocks and the toilet has to be as small as possible
- It has to be clean
7. Speaking of cleanliness, they are waaay more hygienic conscious than I would've thought, than my friends, and than me. They call me dirty!
8. They told me I gained weight. Idiots.
It's different, but fun, uncomplicated, no worries, no fights, I like it!

In New York we fed squirrels, we went ice skating at Bryant Park, and we stood on top of the world (the Rockefeller) at Christmas. I was looking at the city with all its lights and it was beautiful. I've never felt so alone.
Luckily my boys were there.

Anyway, they've been wanting me to write my blog all week. I guess they want me to mention their awesomeness haha. Now that I did, I hope they'll buy me dinner tonight, in Chinatown, because we're in San Francisco now. (which was a 7 hour flight, and has a time difference of 9 hours with Rotterdam).

Right now Stefan is on his bed watching Jeroen playing superman with the red Delta blanket. Both waiting for me to finish up. Boys will be boys. Bye!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Emilie

Actief sinds 10 Dec. 2013
Verslag gelezen: 291
Totaal aantal bezoekers 4603

Voorgaande reizen:

14 December 2013 - 25 Januari 2013

USATRIP

Landen bezocht: