I left my heart in San Francisco - Reisverslag uit Los Angeles, Verenigde Staten van Emilie Block - WaarBenJij.nu I left my heart in San Francisco - Reisverslag uit Los Angeles, Verenigde Staten van Emilie Block - WaarBenJij.nu

I left my heart in San Francisco

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Emilie

01 Januari 2014 | Verenigde Staten, Los Angeles

San Francisco/Los Angeles, Day 19

After the busy streets of New York, the city where the world comes together, we flew to the other side of the country: San Francsisco's hills were waiting for us. New York - San Fran is a 7 hour flight, nearly as long as my flight from Amsterdam to the US.

San Francisco is called the most European city of America, even though it's dominated by Asians and homeless people. The Americans in San Fran do seem more European though, they're dressed better (all the generations), they sell healthier food and they're more down-to-earth in their speaking. You don't hear OHMYGOD THAT'S SO EXCITING every other sentence.

The city itself is amazing. It's built on big hills which make it has a lot of beautiful views over the city. There's a city-car (tram) that you can hop on and hop off for free that takes you around the city and there are a lot of different neighbourhoods, all very specific, special and very nice.

San Francisco has (I believe) the second-largest Chinatown of America. It's packed with Asian people, Asian shops and Asian restaurants. There were Asian 'stuffers' (Im not sure that's an English word haha, but in Dutch these people are referred to as 'stuffers'; the people that push you into coming to their restaurant/bar/club). One of the 'stuffers' gave us an offer and we decided to go and check it out. Another stuffer, an old Chinese lady, also tried to lure us into her restaurant. When she discovered we already decided to go somewhere else, she went nuts. She started screaming that we're crazy and made gestures as to wanting to kill Jeroen. Who's crazy now!

There's also the Hippie neighbourhood. There's a scent of weed everywhere (not that I can smell that, but the boys kept mentioning it), bongs were sold, and multi-coloured clothes were found on every corner of the street. In Castro, the gay neighbourhood of San Francisco, we ate a Dick Cookie: A big black hand-sized dick on a stick. With whipped cream, hmm. And once you go black...

San Fran is situated at the water, so we went down to Fisherman's wharf and had Fish & Chips. There was an old arcade and we played games that were older than we will ever be, for only $0,25 a game. Nobody said having fun needs to be expensive.

To save a little more, I made the boys and mysef climb the Twin Peaks instead of taking a bus there. They're 281 meters (922 feet) high and offer an amazing view over the city. Because we were a little late -the walk was a little longer than expected- we got there by sunset. I told them it would be more satisfying to walk there and that they would feel the same once we got up there. They didn't. Stefan still has an achilles tendon ache.

Speaking of my last comment about him being made of steel. Since I've said that, he's been saying he's tired, cold, and hurt. His steel has started to rust.

San Francisco has been the best city I've been so far. It offers a great variety of places with the neighbourhoods, the water, and the park. If I ever get a chance to go there for a longer period, I will immediately take it.

After San Francisco we drove to Los Angeles. Or actually Jeroen did. His first superman deed. We were trying to get a second driver, but that would cost us $25 a day extra. And if we're saving by climbing the twin peaks..
It was an 8 hour drive which was partly along the westcoast. It was beautiful. I'll post some pictures when I can!

Los Angeles is very different from San Francisco. It's less like a city and more like Florida again. Everything is stretched out, flat, and very American. We walked the Hollywood Boulevard and its walk of fame. Americans seem to have the tendency to praise everything to the outside world. It's a few stars on the sidewalk with a few names, and it really wasn't more than that. Also we saw Beverly Hills and the Rodeo Drive. Same thing, super uninteresting.

Santa Monica is beautiful though. The beach, the little center with shops and restaurant and the pier. So far I'm not really impressed by Los Angeles. Tomorrow we'll catch a beach day to relax, since our bodies are starting to hurt, and because it's going to be 27 degrees. Sorry guys, I know its cold there. I'll be back in a month, then I'll be in the cold again, too!

Stefan mentioned that he was going to be back home within two weeks. It made me realize that time goes fast. Even though I have 25 days of traveling left. We'll be back before we know it. Which is sad on the one hand, and great on the other. I miss my friends and family and I'm ready to come back home in a month. I'm excited to see you all again!

The next stop is San Diego which is supposed to be a great city so I'm excited to go there! Oh, and I got a new memory card for my camera from Jeroen & Stefan for Christmas so I'll be taking a lot of pictures that I will post when I'm back home, because I don't have a laptop and therefore cannot get my pics on the computer and blog. I'll see if I can get some phone-pictures on here.

HAPPY NEW YEAR! XXX

p.s. Congratulations mom&dad with your 25th anniversary, I'm super proud and thankful! :) Loveyou X



  • 02 Januari 2014 - 08:27

    CL:

    wat leuk! heel erg veel plezier tijdens het laatste stukje van je reis :) x

  • 02 Januari 2014 - 22:08

    MD:

    Hoi, ja st Fr. Is ook de stad waar ik het liefst naar toe zou gaan. Om een beetje in te leven! Haha

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Emilie

Actief sinds 10 Dec. 2013
Verslag gelezen: 285
Totaal aantal bezoekers 4615

Voorgaande reizen:

14 December 2013 - 25 Januari 2013

USATRIP

Landen bezocht: