Ready to go - Reisverslag uit Pensacola, Verenigde Staten van Emilie Block - WaarBenJij.nu Ready to go - Reisverslag uit Pensacola, Verenigde Staten van Emilie Block - WaarBenJij.nu

Ready to go

Door: Emilie

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Emilie

11 December 2013 | Verenigde Staten, Pensacola

Before I left I was ready to go. I thought I’d seen it all. The city, the people (no offense), the school, the library, the clubs, the bars, the shops, the streets: all of it. To be fair, it was the only thing I’d ever really seen; having been places for no longer than two weeks, no further than the borders of Europe. I considered Rotterdam my city, my home: the known. And because all birds have to fly their nest, so did I.

I decided to go to America because I wanted to live the American Dream. Not the house, the two kids, the dog and the car, but the true American college-experience. I’d heard about the parties, the craziness, people getting drunk, wasted, extremely terribly wasted, the hot college football guys with their cheerleaders, the red cups, and what not. In college that is the American Dream. At least that’s what I thought. But whoever dreams, has to wake up.

I have to warn you before you read any further. I might be in the end of my so-called hostility phase. It’s supposed to be a phase you go through when you go abroad, when you start disliking everything about where you are, and start loving everything about where you’re not. Home, that is.
America is different. The food is terrible, the supermarkets are way too big and way too far away, the people are fat, ignorant, and arrogant. It’s not all bad, they are also friendly, helpful, and hospitable. I got invited for Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners by people I barely even knew. They took a stranger in their home because they wanted me to have a good time, so altruistic. You and I, we’d probably never do that. Ever.

I wanted to start a travel-blog when I first came here, but I didn’t really know what to write about. Looking back, I could have written whole stories about little things here that I love, that I hate, that frustrate me, that intrigue me or that simply surprise me. Too late for that now, better things are coming up!

This Saturday it’s finally starting: my big USA TRIP with Jeroen & Stefan. Because we’ve been suffering the cityless and peaceful life for about 4 months now, it’s time to start exploring the citylife of America. I’m ready to throw myself back into the screaming, smelling crowd of people rushing around the city centre. Saturday at 11.40 (18.40 Dutch time), we’ll get on the bus to start our adventure. I’m ready as I’ll ever be. Let’s go!

  • 12 December 2013 - 06:31

    Fre:

    Aah Eem (sorry, wel even in t Nederlands) ben zo benieuwd naar je reisverhalen, ga deze blog goed bijhouden hoor!! Dan lees ik m braaf elke ochtend :) wijfie, skypen is m dan de laatste tijd niet helemaal geworden, gaan we sowieso snel doen en heeeeeel veel plezier op jullie 'merica trip!xxxxxxxxxx

  • 12 December 2013 - 12:06

    Yves:

    Gogogo Emilie, i'm sure this flight will be made on strong and beautifull wings, and peacefull winds.

  • 12 December 2013 - 22:59

    Mama:

    Wat alleraardigst om te lezen! Xxx

  • 13 December 2013 - 10:02

    Machteld:

    lauuuuu, hou ons op de hoogte !

  • 14 December 2013 - 00:14

    Liza:

    Aaahhh super!!! Geniet intens van jullie trip.. Xx

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Emilie

Actief sinds 10 Dec. 2013
Verslag gelezen: 281
Totaal aantal bezoekers 4635

Voorgaande reizen:

14 December 2013 - 25 Januari 2013

USATRIP

Landen bezocht: